We’re Havin’ a BABY!


Reverse Psychology Does NOT Work on God.
September 14, 2008, 9:03 pm
Filed under: God, labour, Overdue..., Waiting

Last night as I was trying to get comfortable in bed, trying to fall asleep, I was having a conversation with myself in my head. Yeah. I know you do it too, don’t even try to deny it…

Anyway, so I found myself saying the following to myself:

“Tomorrow I’ll be six days overdue. That’s a really long time. I know, many women have gone longer than that (like 2 weeks… or 3 if you’re my mom and pregnant with me). Nonetheless 6 days is long. Especially when all you’re doing is sitting at home, bored, without plans. Because who would make plans for 6 days after they are SUPPOSED to be giving birth? People with divine foreknowledge, I guess.”

“Anyway, I don’t even think that this baby is going to come on his or her own. I think the doctor is just going to have to induce my labour, and get this baby out of me, because it’s not like I’m going to go into labour on my own. I simply don’t believe it’s gonna happen. Yup, I’d be shocked, astounded even, if I went into labour right.. NOW…”

3 or 4 seconds pass…

“Oh my word. I can’t believe I just tried to do reverse psychology on God. Yeah, I was totally hoping that He would hear my thoughts (since he’s God and all, he does that), and see fit to prove me wrong and show me how powerful he is by making me go into labour at that very moment. Sorta like “oh yes I can make you go into labour, here… I’ll prove it to you right… NOW!”.

Now don’t get me wrong – it wasn’t like I laid down to sleep and thought to myself “Well walking, spicy food, and raspberry leaf tea haven’t worked, so I think I’ll try doing a reverse psychology bit on God to bring on labour.” I just realized what I was doing after the fact.

And then I felt very silly. Obviously God knows my thoughts better than I do, and He even knows the future. He even knew I would write a blog post about this. Weird. Yeah, He obviously doesn’t need to prove Himself to me…

Oh goodness, He must totally be up there laughing at me right now. I mean giggling uncontrollably at my seriously ridiculous ideas.

I get the feeling He does that alot.